The following appeared in a newsletter offering advice to investors:

“Techcorporation is our top pick for investment this term. We urge all of our clients to invest in this new company. For the first time in ten years, a company that has developed satellite technology has been approved by the FTA to compete with the current satellite provider. That company is Techcorporation. A consumer survey last year indicated that over eighty percent of respondents were dissatisfied with the current satellite television provider and would want to switch to another provider if the industry were not a monopoly. Thus, the new venture of Techcorporation into satellite television will prove to be highly profitable for those who invest now.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

The argument is flawed for a number of reasons. It unwarrantingly assumes that the survey done is a complete indicator of all the people using the satellite and assumes that techcorporation will be able to compete equally with the current satellite provider thus removing the monopoly. The period of time within which it can adapt to its business environment and be able to garner enough profits to be as high as the investors predict also remains to be seen.

For one, there is no evidence that the consumer survey was done for all the people currently using the satellite. One might ask, is the survey done only for a specific group of people or the entire population currently using satellite. Even then another question arises. The survey only takes into account the dissatisfaction of the respondents. It may very well be that a lot of people were actually happy with their current satellite provider and only a selected few who were unhappy were the ones that responded to the survey. In both cases, the proportion 80 percent means close to nothing if we don't have enough evidence to answer these questions.

Secondly, the investors assume that as long as monopoly is removed from the market, people would move to Techcorporation. But then several questions come to mind. Does techcorp have enough capital, manpower and resources to continue as a company that will rival the current satellite provider? Even if techcorp had the resources, will it be able to efficiently attract the customer base to itself and continue providing better service than the current satellite provider? Techcorp may lack in several areas in which the current satellite provider specializes in and therefore customers mayn't move to the new system readily at all. What if techcorp is even worse than the current satellite provider? The FTA approvement only says that techcorp's technology is good enough, but gives no information about its workers, resources, reliability of services etc all of which is needed to be considered to get further insight onto the matter.

Finally, Investors assume that people who invest right now will undoubtedly reap a high profit. Even if techcorp is able to solve all the issues regarding Customer service, advertisements and reliable resources to continue its business we need to know when will it be able to flourish as a rival to current satellite provider. Will it be now, or will it be two years from now? What if some unprecedented event occurs and the company goes bankrupt? Then all the money invested will vanish into thin air , let alone be profitable. Thus we need answers to whether Techcorp will be able to adapt to the business quickly to reap all the benefits that the investors claim that it'll do.

In conclusion, there are numerous concerns regarding the reliability of the survey, techcorp's own resources, customer service, advertisement campaigns and largely its adaptability with the current business market. To prove whether it'll be able to rival the current satellite provider and prove the investors deductions to be true is based on whether we can properly answer these questions or not.