An ancient, traditional remedy for insomnia—the scent of lavender flowers—has now been proved effective. In a recent study, 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia slept each night for three weeks on lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room where the

In this memo, the author argues that lavender is curative of insomnia within a short period of time. To support this argument, the author points out that sleep enhancement was witnessed after using the lavender-scented pillows in only 2 weeks in a recent research. However, the argument is found to be specious in several respects.

To begin with, the author conducted experiment 3 weeks but this is sufficient enough to make a conclusion. Even though insomnia was less likely to occur by stopping original medication, it is required to check the persistence of its effect. As the following two weeks after stopping usual one showed opposite symptoms both negative and positive, it is not warranted to bolster the effect will be consistent afterwards. The research should be continued at least more than 3 weeks to better assess it.

Even if the patients experienced enhancement in their sleep, we would need to know whether the sleeping environment was similar with each participants’ original sleeping environments. Perhaps the research conducted place was more comfortable and relaxing because of sleeping on top ranked mattress and quitter surroundings. Unless providing sufficient evidences that participants’ original sleeping environment and the tested location were similar, it is difficult to bolster the author’s argument.

Even if the author can substantiate the two forgoing assumptions, the argument relies on the assumption that the research will show identical results even conducted in a disturbing condition. If the research wanted to obtain their wanted results, they may deceive the real results by conducting the research in the best condition. What if the research added some impediments during sleep time, such as clanging sound or creating a stressful situation before subjects’ sleep time, then will the results will still turn out to be better than not sleeping with lavender scented pillows? Indeed, their sleep will be interrupted regardless of the usage of such pillows, however, if the research also found sleep enhancement even though in this interrupted condition when using lavender scent, then it would more reinforce the author’s argument.

In sum, the argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it, the research should be conducted in a long-term period for reinforcing accuracy. To better assess the argument we would need to know about whether the participants had the same sleeping conditions before and after the experiment and comparing it in some interrupted conditions should be added to the research also.