In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement

In this memo, the speaker claims that exposure to the influence of past achievement can attribute to making significant contribution within any field of endeavor. While I find this claim paradoxical on its face, the paradox is explainable, and the explanation is well supported empirically. Nevertheless, the claim is an unfair generalization in that it fails to account for other empirical evidence serving to discredit it.

A threshold problem of this claim is that its internal logic is questionable. At first impression it would seem that being influenced by past achievements is productive enough as it provides relevant exemplar when facing similar goals in that field. Yet one cannot have great deal of confidence in this, since no achievements are made by going through the same process with past achievements and it doesn't warrant the same success. It may help you to get close to it but it can also be regarded as imitation also.

Lending credence to this explanation for the paradoxical nature of the claim is sometimes doesn't fit to every situations. For example, smartphones used to be considered as just an item available in science fiction story. Yet, as Apple introduced iphone and opened a new era of smartphone, a slew of related companies started to make their own smartphones to compete with Iphones. As a result, Samsung, Blackberry, LG, Nokia and others put a great effort to their phone services and our lives are in the middle of digitally convenient environment. If Apple hasn't made such achievements, modern society would have not been developed such like this.

However, making a significant contributions are more honored when it goes through its indigenous path. To my knowledge, past achievements are exalted due to the audacity and success of pioneering neglected or undisclosed field and gave enlightenment in there. Even though the influence of past achievements may encourage many relates to be exuberant in their field, disputes in evaluating its real value of contribution is expected. For example, Samsung and Apple are still in their legal fight for several years with their own smartphone design patents. Both of their achievements are historical enough however, within their field, it seems both antagonistic to each other which also splits each of their loyal consumers by implementing negative marketing strategies by disregarding each other.

In sum, while at first glance exposure to the influence of past achievement can attribute to making significant contribution within any field of endeavor would seem mutually exclusive, it appears they are not. Thus the speaker's claim has some merit. Nevertheless, only just being influenced doesn't warrant the high value of contribution and forges doubts of its real value. In the final analysis, the correctness of the speaker's assertion must be determined on a case-by=case basis.