"According to a recent report by our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies ac

Argument represented by marketing department tries to constringe on causes of fewer people attending Super Screen-produced movies last year comparatively to any other year. It put forwards unreachability of reviews to people as one of the reason even though positive reviews were received by them respectively. However, there are many evident fallacies in the argument which impair its claims to be true.

The very first assumption made by department is to relate public attendance with positive reviews by critics. This certain assumption lacks evidence. Writer does not mention anywhere whether earlier movies with positive reviews got higher percentage of viewers as well. In this case, possibility could be that although there were positive reviews but movie genre was not which interested majority. If it proves to be true that even though movies made were claimed to be good but not interested people, then it performance declined. Due to this lack of consideration of factors, relation between these two falls weak.

Another assumption made was that reviews were not reaching intended viewers. Watching movie is not a necessity but a luxury. It does not account of possibility about ticket pricing variation between last year and earlier years. Cinema halls could have hiked up the ticket prices therefore causing a decline in number of people watching movies. The reviews might be reaching people and they could be interested in watching those movies but due to high pricing, not everyone is able to afford it. Middle class section of society who were going to cinema halls last year cannot afford to pay for this leisure activity anymore. This assumption has much deeper implications. Supposing that there were other events which were hosted at same time as movie shows caused further decline in number of viewers. Since they occur occasionally, everyone might have preferred those rather than watching movies.

At last, it draws a conclusion that more money should be spent on advertising to reach people. Marketing team does not provide any information about the advertising budget in earlier years. It could be a case that budget allocated was same and viewership was still high. That comes out to be true then spending more money on viewership won't be the solution.

It should also factor in whether current advertising strategies are reachable to intended audience. In case they are reachable and still are not causing any benefit to viewership, spending more money will not solve the problem.

At last, it can be said that marketing department does not provide a compelling argument. Conclusion can be drawn that the argument lacks fair share of evidences. Many assumptions can be drawn which if true can seriously undermine its position.