A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys

The argument presented here states facts presented in a scientific journal about a study on eighteen rhesus monkeys. It tries to establish a mapping of rhesus monkeys with human behavior. The argument presented here have many fallacies due to which it fails to establish any cogency of the statement.

Firstly, it fails to mention about who conducted this study. It could be a possibility that this study was conducted by some first year students and have not considered many factors while mapping monkeys’ cortisol level with human cortisol levels. Until and unless the study was conducted by an established group of scientists who actually major in studying behavioral patterns of monkeys as well as humans the statement cannot be qualified as true or even persuasive.

Another assumption made in the argument is when it tries to map a firstborn infant monkey cortisol level with the firstborn human. Please note in the argument, firstborn infant monkeys produce a high level of hormonal cortisol when they encounter an unfamiliar monkey. On the other hand, in humans it happens when one of their parent returns after an absence. These two simulating situations are poles apart. In monkeys’ case, there is no emotional bond with the unfamiliar monkey. It could be possibility that hormone level rises whenever they encounter an unfamiliar situation, environment or a person. Whereas in case of humans, there is a much stronger emotional bond with the parent, due to which the cortisol level rises up whenever they encounter such a situation. The two simulating situation are not similar to each other, therefore, the results of those two cannot be mapped or compared. However, this can be done if both of them are kept in a similar simulating situation, such as, what happens to their hormone level when they encounter an unfamiliar person. Such a simulating situation will be able to produce a much determinable result.

Other assumption made here is related to the younger sibling. In case of rhesus monkeys, it is mentioned that firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. However, in case of humans there is no such information about the younger siblings. The information about them is either ignored or omitted. There is a possibility that in humans, younger siblings also produce same level of cortisol hormones as the firstborn and therefore, the result could be contradictory to the rhesus monkeys. If such an information is presented, then the argument will yield a much confirmatory theory about both of them.

Therefore, from the assumptions presented it can be inferred that argument lacks many definite facts and contains many fallacies. It does not consider certain factors, which could cause discrepancy in the argument and completely alter the results of studies. If any of the assumptions come true, then the argument's statement will not hold true.