Issue Topic #2: School should do more to prepare students for the non-academic aspects of adulthood.

Schools are the institutions that train for multiple phases of our life. Be it academics, co-curricular or sports-it is the place where an individual takes initial steps towards building his career. However, the current issue asks the schools to prepare the students for non-academic aspects of adulthood as well. By non-academic aspects it means to prepare them for the challenges they will face during their lifetime not only in terms of their career but also in their personal lives. Introducing such subjects will create a more creative and well-rounded curriculum resulting in further advancement of students personality.

Although I agree with the statement, I feel that school already prepares students for such situations. Since early childhood, multiple moral qualities are taught through stories and different instances which are instilled within ourselves. From nursery itself, a subject called moral science is introduced in the curriculum which teaches a myriad of moral qualities through different stories. Teachers explain the importance of such principles and how they make us a better human being. One of such stories is of a crow trying to drink water from a vessel. That story teaches the value of patience in our lives and how through patience and smartness anything desired can be achieved. Thus, with the help of such qualities, multiple situations of our lives can be handled efficiently.

However, I cannot agree more on schools going an extra mile to prepare the future generation better for other aspects of their adulthood. During adult years, individuals face many issues such as inferiority complex, peer pressure, jealousy etc. When not able to deal with such emotions they take extreme steps and make mistakes. For an instance, one of my friend was facing inferiority issues just because she was overweight. Due to nobody experienced or mature to share this with as well as unprepared to handle such a situation, she became a victim of depression. If there had been a guiding force in her life such as her teachers, then such a situation could be avoided. She would have emerged as a better individual if she had been prepared beforehand.

On the other hand, people may argue that in today's world more focus is on technical skills rather than soft-skills such as-leadership, cooperation etc. This is not true as major companies focus on such soft skills for an overall development of any employee. While hiring for certain management positions, rather than technical these skills are more focused. In today's era, multinational companies have started to introduce training related to such soft-skills to boost the development of their corporation. Therefore, one can never deny the importance of such aspects.

Furthermore, it can be argued that kids today are already burdened in academics and co-curricular activities. Even though schools start to take an initiative to introduce methods to prepare them for such aspects, they won't be willing to actively take part in such activities. However, to develop the interest of students in such teachings, a curriculum will have to be defined that should involve activities and a proximity to real-life situations. The curriculum will have to be relatable to them then only they will be keen to take part in such activities which ultimately will be beneficial for them.

To conclude, I believe that major part of our learning career is shaped by schools. At a very rudimentary level, when the human mind is malleable it can be prepared to face challenging circumstances and emerge as a winner. Therefore, if schools go an extra mile to prepare students for a better future, it is beneficial for us as well the society.