"According to a recent report by our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the last year. Clearly, the content of these reviews is not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not in the quality of our movies but with public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater quantity of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

In the memo given, the advertising director suggests that the company must allocate more of its budget towards advertising, because the number of attendees has plummeted. This argument posed by the advertsing director is highly flawed, due to several unsupported assumptions.

First and foremost, the director has wrongly assumed that the drop in number of viewers is directly is solely due to the poor advertising and lack of awareness of good quality movies. This implies that there is no other factor as crucial as this, due to which the numbers have reduced.

Secondly, he assumed that allocating a larger budget would result in better advertising for the company. This implies that he has not accounted for any failure in advertising. This again is highly presumptuous, since the target audience might not be attracted even with the additional funding.

Finally, he only takes into acount the positive reviews, and thus assumes that there is nothing wrong with the quality of the movies. What if the remaining reviewers were dissatisfied by the quality provided? He must take into consideration, all those factors, before making a decision.

There are several points that could severly undermine his argument. For example, what if many of the movie goers left the city? This could have resulted in a reduced number of viewers at the theatre.

Also what if most of the movie goers, dont watch TV, or any other form of advertising? Then no matter how much money they invest, there is no way in which the target audience can be informed. Hence, his suggestion that, the advertising budget must increase, is not necessarily the right choice.

The arguments provided by the advertising director are highly flawed, and in order to make it cogent and acceptable, he must make certain changes. Firstly he must provide more evidence that the drop in viewers was not due to poor movie qualty, but due to the poor advertising employed. Secondly, he needs to show how the allocaed budget will improve the advertising method, and how it will eventually increase the number of viewers. After providing all these evidences, the argument might be more cogent!