"All students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville High School. In the past two years, several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. Since a number of parents in Centerville have complained that they are too busy to teach their teenagers to drive, some other instruction is necessary to ensure that these teenagers are safe drivers. Although there are two driving schools in Centerville, parents on a tight budget cannot afford to pay for driving instruction. Therefore an effective and mandatory program sponsored by the high school is the only solution to this serious problem."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author assumes that several accidents are involved teenage drivers, and near driving schools cannot be used to instruct teenage drivers; So, Centerville High School can force a mandatory driving course to reduce the accidents that have involved teenage driver. However, lacking cogent evidence and no considering some possible factors makes this assumption dubious.

To begin with, the author relies on reports to suggest that several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. However, the report does not mention the exact number of accidents that are involved teenage drivers and the total number of accidents. Specifically, the total number of accidents in Centerville is 300, and the number of accidents that are involved teenage drivers is 3; With only 3 accidents, people do not know whether teenage drivers are a dangerous factor or not. As a result, the reports cannot represent the overall number of accidents that have involved teenage drivers in Centerville, because these are just minority cases.

Secondly, the arguer fails to establish the causal relationship between no budget to pay for driving instruction and no attending driving school. It is highly possible that other factors contributed to that children do not attend driving school. For instance, the things that children do not attend driving school might have resulted from that parents reckon it is entirely unnecessary; Since parents thought the quality of driving schools is bad, attending driving schools is unnecessary. Lacking evidence that links between lacking money and no attending driving schools, it is presumptuous to suggest that lacking money was responsible for no attending driving schools.

Even if parents lack the budget to arrange for their children to driving schools, the editor’s recommendation depends on the assumption that mandatory programs sponsored by the high school will cause that teenagers can get good driving instruction. However, a myriad of other factors, including lacking practical space and lacking funding, might be the cause of the conclusion that schools cannot force such mandatory programs. To be specific, schools have no space to train students, and teaching them only using text is not effective; Or lacking money will result in that schools is incapable of forcing this policy. Without ruling out these and other possible causes, the editor cannot justifiably conclude that only a mandatory program can instruct students.

To sum up, the author’s assumption is unwarranted. The author must offer the exact number of accidents, consider some possible factors, such as the links between lacking money and no attending driving schools, and consider schools’ conditions; Therefore, this recommendation will be more reasonable.