Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month.

Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment.

I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable.

Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In a letter to the manager of Sunnyside Towers apartment, the owner writes that modifying showerheads to all twelve buildings will reduce costs and increase profits. It's based on the assumption that water consumption has reduced irrespective of the readings, all the twelve buildings have similar water requirements and shower availability being considered as important point of evaluation. However, the above recommendation can be deemed valid by answering the below three questions.

Firstly, what is the guarantee that the water consumption has reduced? It is assumed that there will be considerable reduction but the readings weren't considered. Even though the water flow has reduced, people may still end up using similar quantity of water. What if more guests have arrived at the apartment leading to increased water consumption? One cannot base there findings without considering factors such as the number of people present before showerheads were attached and after, etc. If any of the above scenarios comes true, then the water bill may still end up at the same level.

Secondly, the owner assumed that all twelve buildings have similar water requirements but how can anyone conclude that the rest of the apartments are similar? There may be more bachelors in the initial tested apartments whereas the rest of them are having joint families. The number of people would be directly proportional to water consumption and would lead to lot of inconvenience to such families. One should carefully administer the requirements per building and then conclude on the showerheads instead of considering all the buildings as a single bunch.

Thirdly, the owner assumed that just because there were no complaints on showers, the restriction in water flow is plausible. What if it was rainy season and the tanks were always full leading to no complaints from the tenants? What if during summer, the naturally low water level, along with restricted flow would be detrimental to the water outlet? One should carefully evaluate the above scenarios before reaching conclusion. If any of the above scenarios is true, then the residents are in for a nightmare during summer time.

In conclusion, the owner's claim is majorly flawed as observed by the above mentioned unwarranted assumptions.

If the owner provides relevant evidence which answer above questions, then the argument can be further evaluated. Until then, the claim shall remain flawed.