Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The authors argument that the deer population is dwindling based on the reports by the local hunters may seem logical at first glance but it rests upon some unwarranted assumptions that needs further analysis and data.

First, the scope and validity of the reports by the hunter is questionable. For example, the deer population could have declined because of the hunting activity which might be illegal in that area; hence hunters can fabricate another cause to cover it up. If that is the case then the claim is severely weakened. Thus, authentic data containing the facts and figures of deer population is required.

Secondly, it is nowhere mentioned that the frozen sea is the only mode of transportation for the deer and even if that is true, the melting of sea ice due to global warming is a recent phenomenon. It is highly unlikely to show immediate effects in the population of deer.

It is also possible that the vegetation in that place which the Arctic deer feeds on is depleted due to extreme climates or other reasons. If that is true then the entire belt of Canada arctic region would not have sufficient plants that serves as the food source for the deer, hence the population might have declined due to starvation.

Another probable reason is that while the reports of the population were taken by the hunters, the deer might have not reproduced in that period. For instance, the population might comprise mostly of aged arctic deer that are most likely to die and the lack of reproduction might have further reduce the number and the global warming incidence might have been a coincidence.

Also, there is no proper data to prove that the sea in the Canada's Arctic region also melted due to global warming. It might have just affected the southern pole and not the arctic region. We simply do not know the validity of the report.

Moreover, it is mentioned that the region remains cold only during sometime of the year for the sea to be covered with ice. Thus, during warmer climates, the sea might start gradually melting and the Arctic deer may have another route to move to other islands or they might have deviced a way to procure food. Thus similar method could have been employed by the deer during global warming , and thus it would have not much affected the migration process of the deer.

In conclusion, while the author’s claim is not entirely invalid, he/she must consider all the possible causes for the decrease in deer population in the Canada arctic region. Careful analysis of the reports is required. The author should also exhaustively study all the alternative reasons which might help to bolster his/her argument.