Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at

In this argument, the author claims that the decline in deer populations is due to their inability to cross the frozen sea. He/she supports the claim by pointing to the coincided trend of global warming that may have caused more ice-melting among islands, which prevents the deers from migrating back and forth to search for food. This claim may be sound at first glance, however, more substantial evidence is needed to further confirm its validity.

To begin with, we need evidence to show the validity of local hunters’ reports, which suggest the decline in deer population. If the report is only submitted by a few hunters and does not represent a larger population of hunters’ opinion, it is highly possible that these few hunters miscounted during their hunting that led them to believe there is a decline. On the other hand, if there is evidence from the majority of hunters who concur that there is a decline, then it would be reasonable to start looking for reasons behind the decline.

In addition, evidence that confirms actual ice melting in the deers’ habitat is needed. The author only claims that the global warming trends have led to sea ice melting, yet he/she did not specify the exact areas where sea ice melted. If conservationists do find that there is a significant melting of ice in the deers’ habitat, then the author’s argument will be strengthened. However, if only an inconsequential amount of ice melting is discovered, then the claim that global warming has led to the decline of deer population is untenable

Furthermore, even if the trend of global warming does have an effect, more evidence is still needed to confirm that the deers’ population decline due to their inability to migrate to neighbor islands to forage. If evidence shows that global warming has in fact rendered the extinction of the plants that deers feed on, then the cause of deers’ decline in population could be lack of food source, rather than the inability to follow migration patterns.

In conclusion, the author’s claim is based on some unsubstantiated assumptions and further evidence is needed in order to evaluate the validity of his/her claim on the cause of deer population’s decline.