"Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make a

The question on what should be the responsibility of the companies has long been debated within society. While some people deem that the only responsibility for corporations is to make as much money as possible, from a personal viewpoint, it is more leaned towards the idea that they also have the responsibility to promote the well-being of society and environments.

To begin with, it is common for people to first think about profits when the word company or corporation comes to their mind. Admittedly, the success of a corporation is largely evaluated by its seasonal or annual profits and money is the primary tool that helps grow a company, especially when the corporations are on investments and need to grasp opportunities in the market. Without aiming to make profits, the investment companies will soon lose their competitiveness in the market.

However, as a company gradually stabilizes in its structure and pace of growth, making money should not be its primary and only goal. With such an abundance of wealth it owns, the corporation should feel obliged to give back to society and take some responsibility in helping improve the well-being of society. It can make donations such as giving to a university to build a library, or giving to non-profit organizations to help sustain their development and indirectly assist in humanitarian crisis. In this way, with the money they make, corporations can further promote the well-being of society.

Moreover, the responsibility to promote societal welfare can be more greatly demonstrated in corporations involved in the healthcare system. For a corporation such as an engineering company that aims to make prosthesis for patients, its primary goal should be to design the most suitable prosthesis and try to decrease the cost so that the prosthesis can be made available to more patients around the world. If this company only aims to make money, then the price of a prosthesis would be so high that it will only be affordable to people of a higher social class and wealthy. Such a pecuniary goal is against the purpose of the existence of a prosthesis company—to make lives better for patients and promote their well-being.

In conclusion, while in the field of business, most companies aim to make as much money as possible, they should still give back to society and promote societal well-being after they reach a larger and more stable stage. For corporations involved in biomedical field, their primary responsibility should be to improve the health level of patients and set aside the incentive to make as much as possible, which could end up being discriminative to patients that cannot afford a highly priced equipment.