arguement topic

In this arguement, advertising director of super screen production movie says that despite movies rated as good by critics, few people came to watch movie compared to other years. He further says that maybe people were not aware about these good movies, so in order to do more advertizing about upcoming movies in futue, budget for advertizing should be increased. However I think that directors's statement is flawed and there are may loopholes in it. He has not considered other possibilities for why other people did not watch movies.

Firstly, maybe people knew about the movies but the qualility and content was not at per, despite having a strong star cast. So people who watched this film would have told their friends, or to people where they work and family members to not watch this movie. And this mouth publicity caused harm to movie. There can also be a posibility that cast was completely new and people were not intrested to see them. Other posibility can be that topic of film was controversial or can be considered as a taboo in that country, so few people went to watch movie.

Furthermore, he says that percentage of positive reviews increased compared to last year. It is a very vague statement, it is a possibility that last year 100 reviewers rated the movie and 56 rated it as good, so positive review percentage is 56%. In this year maybe only 5 reviewers reviewed the movie, and 3 wrote positive reviews, and that percentage comes to be 60%. Although 60 is greater than 56, number of reviewers were less, so it can not be generalized. Also there might be a possibility that company have given money to reviwers to write good reviews about movie.

Lastly he says that more fund should be allocated to advertizement in order to spread awareness about the movie. But I think if content and quality of movie is poor people will not watch it, despite more advertizement, and company's money will go waste.

Instead they should do a detailed study about why people are not coming to watch their movies, and try to improve on that areas, and spend more money on that areas, instead of allocating them to advertizments.It will be a more wise thing to do.