The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

This is regarding a tv channel , which gave more time to national news instead of local news and weather news. and because of which its revenue has decreased. so television station buisness manager states that in order to avoid any loss they should restore the time devoted to weather and local news. above statement is based on some flaws,so lets explore them one by one.

firstly statement is vaugue as it doesnt speciffically tells why national news are given more time. may be there can be a national emergency or there can be a election going on in the country because of which national news are alloted more time. so in this case covering national news is more important than covering whether or local news.

second statement says that viewers were concerned with local news and weather. author falsy ausumes that viwers wanted to reduce the time allocated to national news. in addition there can be many channels which cover weather and local news. also in daily news paper news about weather and local news can be easily found.

furthermore,local buisnesses have stopped the contract for advertizing. there can be many reasons behind it. as it a late night show, probability that more people will watch the ads is less, so that is why they have cancelled the contracts. also content of channel might be of low quality and because of which it is experiencing low TRP and very less people follows that channel. in this case, local buisnessman will not get any benefit by putting advertisements on such channels.

viewers can be attracted in many different ways like, covering a breraking news or bring some educational shows or try to do something new and creative that can attract the viewers. if more people follow the channel, TRP of channel will automatically increase, so more buisnessman will be interested to put their buisness advertisements on the channel, which will increase the buisness revenues.

at last, the statement ,restoring time devoted to local news and weather in order to gain more viewers and buisness is flawed and other aspects to increase viewers and grow revenues is not thoroughly thought.