The argument to be analyzed is as follows:

The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the memo avers that the Super Screen Movie Production Company has to invest in the publicity campaign to a large extent so that many viewers could be attracted by the movies produced by the company. The main reason for this argument is the report that mentions the increase of positive reviews regarding several Super Screen movies. However, the writer's main idea is based on logical fallacies and unwarranted assumptions when the scrutiny of his main supporting points is made.

To begin with, the specific data is not revealed in the cited report. Although the director states that the number of individuals who have watched Super Screen movies was the lowest in the previous year, the exact amount of difference is not mentioned. It is likely that the real gap between the previous year and any other year is not large. For instance, it is possible that the number of viewers in the past year was just 0.1% less than the second lowest amount. It should be also noted that the methods of the research do not appear in the report. It is probable that the scope of targeted groups is narrow because of the limited approaches. For example, the number of viewers who have downloaded movies through the internet might be omitted in the survey.

Furthermore, whereas the author claims that the quality of Super Screen films is impeccable while they do not reach the public sufficiently. However, the assumed increase in positive reviews cannot validate this argument. Firstly, the exact figure of the risen percentage of positive reviews is not mentioned. It is likely that the increased amount is just one or two percent and in that case, this result cannot be presented as proof of the improved quality of movies. In addition, although we suppose that the percentage is high enough, it should be indicated that only specific movies got positive reviews. It is highly probable that the majority of the films made by Super Screen cannot be considered good pieces. Therefore, without the examination of the detailed contents of the aforementioned reviews, it is not reasonable to conclude that the movies of Super Screen have good quality in general.

Besides, although it turns out that the average quality of those movies is high, it is still questionable if the quality can be the only decisive factor to attract movie viewers. In many cases, ordinary viewers are inclined to specific genres they prefer or large-scale movies with stunning visual effects. Even though their average quality is not considered high by most critics, the general public's taste does not always match with them. In contrast, even some masterpieces cannot satisfy the public when they are too long and complicated. Given this fact, it is doubtful if advertisements can result in more viewers even though the quality of movies is evidently good enough.

In conclusion, the main idea of the director is not cogent unless he adds more concrete evidence and reliable data. The quality of the movies should be carefully investigated by diverse methods and it should also be questioned if the quality itself can be the only important motive for the majority of viewers.