The argument to be analyzed is as follows:

The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertisement director of the super screen movie company states that super screen should allocate a greater share of budget next year to reach the public through advertising based on certain assumptions. But the assumptions are not strong enough to bolster the conclusion of enhancing the budget for advertising.

Director argues that during the past year only fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies but fails to state the reason why only fewer people attended the movies?. May be majority of people are busy with their work schedule or did not like the trailer of the movie. Thus the argument of lack of advertisement does not strengthen the conclusion of fewer people attending the movies.

It is also stated that though only fewer people attended the movies the number of positive reviews about the movies increased as compared to last year.so It can be possible that after viewing the movie the viewers would have actually liked the movie. the people might have actually liked the movie more than the trailer. which means probably the content of the trailer or advertisement is inadequate to summarize the good qualities of the movie.

The author argues that there is lack of awareness among the people regarding the quality of the movie but fails to survey about it like how much percentage of people actually know about that particular movie and how much do not?. It might happen that most of the people are aware about the movie but didn't like the advertisement of the movie or content on which movie is based on.

Thus the advertisement director of the company makes an argument which sounds good in initial phase but fails to consider the situation if the budget for advertising is enhanced than the Super Screen Movie company would actually be benefited or not?. Because if they increase the budget on advertising and the quality of movies is not good, customers would actually not appreciate it.