"Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo, the author concluded that Super Screen should allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising. The author arrived at this conclusion based on the premise that there is a lack of public awareness that movies of good quality are available. This argument is logically flawed and therefore to properly evaluate this argument, three questions need to be answered.

Firstly, what type of recent report is the author talking about? The author of the argument mentioned that the argument is based on a recent report, how recent is the report? It is possible that the report was compiled before a higher percentage of the overall viewers attended the Super Screen-produced movies and therefore the report is not accurate. It is also possible that there was a calculation or a statistical error during the analysis of the data used to compile the report. If any of these scenarios are true, then the argument does not hold water and thus is logically flawed.

Secondly, how few were the people who attended Super Screen-produced movies in the past year? The author mentioned that according to the recent report, during the past year fewer people attended the movie produced by Super Screen. He mentioned the term "fewer" which does not include any number. This pertains to ambiguity in the data mentioned. It is possible that lesser number of movies were released by Super Screen last year than in other years. It is also possible that the number of people that saw the movies last year was actually more than in previous years but the author maybe based his assumption on a larger sample area. If any of these scenarios are true, the the argument does not hold water.

Thirdly, how exactly did the positive reviews increase? The author mentioned that the positive reviews for the movies increased and in the very next line, he is concluding that the content of movies are not reaching people. The conclusion and the premise on which it is based is paradoxical. If there is an increase in the number of reviews, then it directly means that more people saw the movies.

In conclusion, the assumptions on which the argument is based are unwarranted and he conclusion is thus logically flawed. If responses can be provided to the questions asked with accompanying accurate and concise statistical data that has been properly analysed, then the argument can be logically and properly evaluated.