The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation , not competition

What exactly does cooperation and competition mean? Are they fundamentally different characteristics? Cooperation can be said to be the virtue of being able to collaborate and work with others to achieve a common goal while cooperation can be said to be the characteristic of seeing every other person as a counterpart and as people to be vanquished. While some may argue that its best to prepare our young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, others may argue that its better we instill in them a sense of competition. In my opinion, I strongly agree that to prepare young people for leadership, it is better to instill in them a sense of cooperation than a sense of competition for two reasons.

First of all, leadership can not be done alone because no man is an island on his own. Leadership therefore requires cooperation which begets collaboration and comity. For instance, General Idi Amin of Uganda was an authoritarian leader and he did not make any collaborative effort with his subordinates in the helms of leadership. Idi Amin was a very obstinate leader and would always resort to exterminating in the most gruesome ways anybody that was against his plan. This lack of cooperation led to the total collapse of his regime and his government was overthrown. This could have been averted if he liaised with his subordinates on a regular basis before making rash decisions which later led to his fall. This further explains that when there is a lack of cooperation, it will lead to a collapse of leadership.

Secondly, innovation is a brilliant hallmark of good leadership and cooperation fosters innovation. For example, it is the cooperation between the government and the economic policy makers that promotes good economic environment for a nation.

However, some may argue that competition rather than cooperation should be instilled in a society's young people to prepare them for leadership because it will bring out the best in them but they fail to note that competition births ill-will and enmity between counterparts. Competition also leads to favoritism of those who might have been perceived to be the best among others. For example, Cain killed Abel in the bible because he saw him as a competition as God would not accept Cain's sacrifice but he was accepting Abel's. It can therefore be inferred that if they had cooperated, the bitterness in Cain would not have arisen and would not have led to the death of Abel.

In conclusion, it is evident from the points raised in aforementioned paragraphs that leadership relies on cooperation rather than competition because leadership requires innovation and it engenders collaboration and comity.