Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the given memo, the director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company recommends that the company should allocate a greater share of its budget next year in advertising to reach out public as fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies in last year. However, the suppoting arguments provided by the director are indefensible and requires more concrete evidence before taking any significant decisions.

The director mentioned that the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewer about specific Super Screen Movies actually increased during the past year. However, the director ignored that the increse in the percentage of positive reviews are the result of fewer total number of viewers. Also, he mentioned that "specific" movies got positive reviews.The questions raise here are that how many movies got positive reviews and in total how many moviews have been produced by Super Screen? What if only two or three movies got positive reviews among ten? Therefore, to make this argument valid the director must provide the evidence to support his argument.

Another main conjecture is that the contents of reviewers are not reaching enough to prospective viewers. The director didn't provide any solid support for this statement. What if marketing team has done enough to reach out to their prospective viewers and yet the viewers didn't attend their movies. Therefore, the author must study and analyze that whether the content actually didn't reach their viewers or there are other issues hidden behind.

The director added a reference of the report-provided by the marketing department to show that the fewer people have attended their movie's in past year than any other year. However, the director made assumption that the awareness among people is the main reason behind the attendance of fewer people. Though, it could not be true. The interest of the viewers could be diffrent then the Super Screen Movie in past year. Therefore, the author must dig deeper and investigate the actual reason behind fewer attendees rather than making pointless assumption.

The author of the argument must provide the actual statistics which can bolster his argument. Also, he needs to study and investigate what kind of movies release in past years and what kind content their prospective viewers are expecting from Super Screen Movie. Without knowing above information, the author may invest wrongly in advertising and would loss more viewers as well as its budget.

In sum, the argument in the memo, is incomplete in nature and do not seem convincing at all. Thus, the speaker must provide valid probe to support his recommendation. The director requries to revised the given memo and provide organized argument which bears warranted evidences rather making unreasonable assumptions.