A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

In the argument, it is stated that a pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experience illness but after testing the samples from recall food, company found that the chemicals used in pet food are approved to use. However, the author made a huge assertion, that the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms and the company should not devote further investigation, which lacks significant probes and therefore inappropriate to infer above conclusion.

The argument doesn't provide any details about testing like how many number of sample tested, how this testing has been conducted, how these samples have been selected among 4 million pounds of food. If the sample tested have been small in numbers then taking those tests as an evidence would not be justified. Also, how reliable this testing is another question too.

The argument depends on the assumption that the samples mirrors all the 4 million pound food. However, no further details about how these samples represent all recalled food. The author hasn't provide any facts that all the 4 million pound food is identical in all the nature, like - amount and type of the ingredients used in all food are similar in nature. Therefore, this argument requires more evidence or further investigation.

Another conjecture has been made in the argument is that the chemicals found in the food that are approved for use in pet food. The speaker hasn't provided any statistical probes for this argument, for example, how munch amount of a particular chemical should be allowed top use. What if some chemical is approved to use with some limited amount and company failed to maintain that criteria, then the illness of the pet, may be the result of consumption of these chemicals from that pet food. The author needs to provide more solid proofs to make this argument stronger and believable, otherwise this argument would be count as unwarranted.

All in all, the argument's assertion has relied on indefensible proofs, and therefore the author cannot make convincing proposition that the company is not responsible for the illness of pets after consuming their food. The author must provide adamant proofs to make this assertion valid by doing further deep investigation.