Argument Topic The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company According to a recent report from our marketing department during the past year fewer people attended Super Screen produced

The director of Super Screen Movie Production Company says the reason that fewer people are attending their movies is because of the publics lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. They say the percentage of positive reviews has increased and therefore should allocate a greater portion of funds to advertising. There are 3 main flaws that I will discuss in this argument.

One assumption the director makes is that the public is not aware of the good quality movies that Super Screen Movie is making. The question that needs to be answered is if the public is aware of the movies but are making an active choice not to see these movies because they do not enjoy them. This can account for the increase in the percentage of positive reviews and decrease in viewcount. For example, if there are less people who dislike Super Screen Movie's content then there will definitely be an increase in the percentage of good reviews because only the loyal customers will be reviewing. If this is true then the directors initial assumption is discredited.

The director reaches a conclusion that more funds should be allocated to advertising. What if the problem is not that people don't know of Super Screen Movie but they are aware and are actively making a decision not to see it? If this is the case, the redistribution of funds within the company will result in an even greater loss in the company because the return on investment will not be as prominent as the director suggests. Perhaps the director should invest money into another field to produce better quality films that a broader audience would find appealing.

In conclusion, the director states that transferring more funds to advertising will lead to more views but fails to realize that the public could be avoiding the movies for an alternate reason.