"Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the argument con concludes that to get the more publicity the super screen should spend a greater share of their budget in advertising. This conclusion is based on the premises; fewer people attended super screen produced movies during past year, contents of positive reviews not reaching enough of their perspective viewers, lack of awareness among people. However, at first sight these premises seem to bolster the argument but meticulous analysis shows otherwise. The reasons for failure of argument are delineated below;

Firstly, the author said that during the past year only few people attended the super screen produced movie than in any other year. However, the exact satatstical data about the decrease in viewers is not provided without which one cannot conclude anything. Moreover, the reason for decrease in the viewers is not provided. It may be possible that the days on which movies are released by super screen are working days on which people avoid to go for a movie in place of their work

Secondly, the author states that the percentage of positive viewers has increased during past year but not reaching up to their prospective level. However, in this premise the exact data about the increase in percentage and how much is their perspective percentage not provided. It, may be possible that difference between percentage of reviews reached and their prospective be very less or very more. Thus, this is a biased premise, there are two possibilities of the increase or the decrease in difference. Therefore, based on such a premise one cannot conclude anything.

Thirdly, the author states that people are not aware about the movies produced by super screen there is not problem in quality of movies. However, in this case it may be possible that the subjects or the ideas on which movies produced by super screen contradicts with those of local people due to which they didn't prefer watching those movies produced by super screen. Moreover, it may be possible that due to production of high quality movies the charges for the movie tickets are much more which a common man cannot afford.

To sum i restate the the conclusion of the argument was totally based on fallacious assumptions which leads to the failure of the argument. However, in order to support the argument the author must have to provide more precise information regarding the number of decrease in viewers during past year, percentage of the reviews reached and factors like cost of movie ticket offered by super screen producers and on which day they release their movie. Due to lack of such information the argument fails to hold the ground.