While the Department of Education in the state of Attra suggests that high school students be assigned homework every day, the data from a recent statewide survey of high school math and science teachers give us reason to question the usefulness of daily homework. In the district of Sanlee, 86 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week, whereas in the district of Marlee, less than 25 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week. Yet the students in Marlee earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are the students in Sanlee. Therefore, we recommend that all teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

The argument concludes that the students in the Altra state should be assigned less than twice a week homework. The evidence cited to support this argument are statewise data survey by math and science teachers, better grades overall in one district and . However the permises are unable to justify or strenghthen the weak conclusion. The main reasons why the argument is rendered inconclusive are applicapibiliy of the data, falacious assumptions and cause and effect relationship.

Firstly, the author said that the statewise survey by the math and science teachers suggest us to assign more than twice a week homework to the students. At first, it seems plausible but how can the survey of two subjects can be applied to all of the subjects. Additionally, theoretical subjects like history, psychology need less of practice but more of cognition. However, subjects like math and science need more of practice. Furthermore, differnt subjects are different from each other, so survey of one subject is not applicable to the other subjects. Also the author haven't provide any authenticity of the data collrected, what if the teachers who are collecing data they are also from the same subject? so the data can be biased too. Hence, the argument is based on faulty assumptions and is subsequently not very logially strong.

Secondly, author said that the Marlee district where less than 25% of teachers assigned less than twice a homework have better overall grades than the sarlee state where 86% teachers have assigned more than twice a week homework but this is based on faulty cause and effect relationship. The better grades in one Marlee state can also be due to other factors like less absentism of students, lax marking of numbers by teachers, better didactic skills, better teaching standards and furthermore, difference can also be due to the difference of the curriculum or more ssignments in school only. So the argument is based on many faulty asssumptions and the argument remains oblivious.

Last but not the least the dropouts in Sarlee district highschool can also be due to the other reasons like mental ability of every student is different, maybe the students bunk alot in sarlee district. Also, the percentage of data provided is also inconsistent and full of fundamental loopholes. Percntage difference can also be due to the difference in poplation size. So, in order to prove this argument is valid the author has to mention the population size from which this data is collected.

So at the end the author's argument is based on fallacious ideas, there is inadequacy of data and wrong cause and effect relationships. In order to prove this argument right author need to provide more data.