It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are generated and preserved.

The issue statement says that the nation's traditions are preserved and generated mainly in cities. However, i disagree to this statement due to the following reasons. Firstly, most of the traditions originated from villages and can be best preserved in villages only. Secondly, cities have negative effect on the traditions and lastly even some cities are preserving traditons too . These reasons alongwith examples are dilineated below.

Firstly, as we all know to study any nation's rich cultural heritage you must study it's villages where the traditions are still very much preserved instead of studying it's major cities where the traditions are hackeneyed. Additionally, traditions have a bucolic origin. In ancient times, when there were no cities, villages were the only source of tradition and as development occured, cities came into existence and as the time passed there came the distinctions between the cities and villages. So, these traditions originated from villages but not from cities. Furthermore, these traditions are degrading day-by-day in cities. For instance, in earlier times parents can scorn their children, they can chide or can do anything but now-a-days they call police even when thay chided them gently, but this parent-children relationship is very much preserved in villages till now. So, traditions are generated in villages only.

Secondly, cities have a negative effect on the traditions, as with the development boon comes alongwith bane. Consider the case of historical forts and buildings which are the source of any nation's rich cultural heritage and many traditions can be preserved there but with the development many forts and buildings have been obliterted just on the name of developement. It is more in case of cities, but you can still find many forts in villages so we can deduce that cities have negative effect on the traditions and values.

Last but not the least, as every coin has two faces, even big cities can preserve and generate values too like cities in countries like Rome, Egypt etc where the traditions are still preserved. Even you can see there are many restaurants which still ersatz thhe idea of old traditions and still serve the food in that old heritage adorned dress. So, it is upto the populace of nation whether they will ruin their rich traditions or preserve them. Even traditions are depleting from villages too. Consider the case of marriages in India, earlier people used to gather for around 10 days even before marriage but now-a-days they came in marriage palace just on the day of marriage and then leave. So, communications are decreasing.

So, at the end i would like to say that the traditions are generated not in cities but they can be preserved best in villages. The reasons for my stand are explained above. But with the efforts of government and the pelebians these can be preserved anywhere even in cities too.