Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced

While advertising is important to increase the reach of a movie to people, but the author's contention is relying on a lot of assumptions. If those assumption do not hold then recommendation totally falls apart.

Firstly, author is saying fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies. The question here is - Is the recent report collecting data from a large set or just considering fewer localities?. May be the report is considering fewer locations and the number has decreased there. In other location people might be attending.

Secondly, for the percentage of positive reviews author is forgetting that it's percentage and not the absolute value, author should ask where has this data come from? Only from those fewer localities or it's providing an overall response. May be the report is considering fewer localities where the number of people attending are also less. That reduce in number might be because this year only people who are genuinely interested in the films,who like the genre of the films produced attended the films. Other people might not be interested in paying the price. And hence, the reviews were also positive.

Thirdly, author is directly correlating lack of awareness with quality of the movie. If people are not aware and not watching the film that doesn't suggest that there is no problem with the quality of the films. Contrary to the report may be majority of the people didn't like the quality and that's why they didn't attend the films. People don't think that the films are worth the money charged.

Lastly, author is saying that increasing the budget will solve the problem. The problem might be - affordability of those films by common man; genre of film not aligning with most of the people; localities of the theaters etc. Directly saying that marketing will help improve the reach ability without taking into consideration that other factors could be a cause suggest a lot of loopholes in the recommendation.