In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on repo

The passege states that the Prunty country is trying to improve highway safety by limiting the speed in highway but yet the authority fails because drivers are not obeying the speed limit. Then it suggests to follow Butler Country as they manage to reduce accident over 25 percent without limiting speed. For this they took a project like increasing linr widths, resurfacing rough highways and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Though it look like well, some factors are not quit impressive at all.

At first we learn that Prunty country just limited the speed limit from 55 to 45. This weakens the argument as there might be other reasons that causing accident. There might a lot wild animals who shows in the road frequently as well as they are using phone while they are driving. There might other reasons behinds like the drivers are less likely to follow traffic rules or their are no road dividers between two ways or they often fell sleep. those point are weakening this argument because just limiting the speed, those problems can't be solved.

Then, the authors suggested to follow the butlen country to reduce the accident rate as they they reduced accident 25 percent. But, those kind of measurement might not help to reduce accident in prunty country because geographically those two country might not same such as one might flat surface highway other might hilly highway or one highway might through the forest while other is along desert. On those cases it is common scenes that the reasons for accident are widely different. So, those things are not helping to reduce the accident.

Another thing that vague, why the prunty country only limited the speed limit and why they didn't took other stratigies to improve highway safety. There is also not clear about actual number of accident in butler country. there might be actually more accident happens in there then prunty city.

At the end, if we knew there are same type of people , road, highway system in those two country we might say that with those implication we might improve highway safety in prunty country, but under those condition stated above which might cause accident ,there is no way that those implication will help the prunty city at all.