In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

It seems axiomatic that applying thorough road improvement project toward the road of prunty county improve highway safety. To justify this argument, the author cites that the project which have done in butler county lower the number of accidents. While supporting the argument, however, the author makes several assumptions that cannot be taken for granted. therefore, evidences regarding these assumptions are needed in order to assess the argument properly.

As a threshold matter, the argument hastily assumes that all the survey held are totally reliable. however, this might be the case, it is possible that the survey have some statistical errors that seems to be correct. since the examination was held by the highway patrol, it is possible that only few of people are driving with exceeded speed limit, but the patrol perceived as many people when they drive much more than ordinary people in prunty county. Also, the survey can have some errors regarding the amount of data that have gathered. if the examination have held relatively short length of time, than the examination might not reliable. Moreover, the situations of prunty county of last year might be a extraordinary circumstances, such as some alcohol festivals are held around the county. thus, evidences that ensures the reliability of the survey held are crucial to assess the argument properly. if the survey are not reliable, then the argument is remain vulnerable.

Even conceding that the survey held are totally reliable, the author of the argument relies on an unfair assumption: that the declination of the number of accidents in butler Country was stemmed from the road improvement project. Although this might be the case, it is totally possible that the reduction of accidents was caused by other factors than the project, such as sharing ride policy or change of insurance policy. perhaps, a new service regarding the sharing ride such as Uber or Tada might have launched in the region of butler county. Probably, many people are afraid of riding their cars because of the raised insurance fees. In respect of these circumstances, the declination of accidents in butler county might not have stemmed from the project they done. thus, evidences regarding that direct relationship between two events is present should be provided.

Finally, the author unfairly posits that the environment surrounding two counties are identical. however, it is totally possible that the circumstances of prunty county are dissimilar to that of butler county. perhaps, many accidents that have occurred in prunty county were originated from the occasional heavy rain, which inundate the roads significantly, or heavy snow, which makes the road more slippery. In this regard, the project would not likely to lead results that have expected. therefore, evidences that ensures the natural environment of two counties are identical or similar should be proposed.

In sum, since numerous assumptions are applied to the argument, it remains fragile in its form. therefore, evidences mentioned above should be provided in order to assess the argument precisely and accurately.