"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population  increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents  involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the  number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25

per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will  attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on  the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on  moped rentals."

The author's argument state's on Balmer Island accidents are increasing especially during summer. Accidents occur due to augment of mopeds and pedestrians, which is flawed. Major source of transportation is mopeds, by reducing such transportation increased population in summer will face the transportation problem but not accidents decrease. Authors provides any evidences to those assumption, then argument will be strengthen.

Firstly, on balmer Island mopeds are major source of transportation. Due to increase in accidents, town council take's a decision as to decrease half of mopeds which is first flaw in argument. Because, author doesn't provide any necessary evidence's to such statement. For example, town council reduces the mopeds then there should alternate resources to travel. But, accidents doesn't depends not only reducing mopeds to half but also various factors include in town like no traffic controls or civilisation in people.

Moreover argument states, in summer population increases to 100000 so chances of increasing accidents may high, which is too flaw. Increase in population leads to usage of public transportation but not their own mopeds and cause accidents. For increased population balmer town council should provide public usage and revenue generated from these should be utilised for improvement of preclude accidents. Such important actions should be take to control the accidents and should develop their plans accordingly. Arguments can be strengthen by providing data related to increased population and proportionate accidents then argument can be strengthen.

Author argument states, by reducing mopeds from 50 to 25 will reduce accidents which happens in neighbouring island of Seaville. In seaville factors may vary according to their conditions. By using only such reduced accidents statistics cannot be implemented in balmer island. Actions of seaville in balmer may not be result's as positive due to varying factors in both separate entity's. Consider various terms like seaville may have different area, population, well established public transport which doesn't stated in argument. Using those terms and analysing them, then those rules can be implemented in balmer.

The statement, reducing mopeds to half of it will result's in reducing half accidents can be strengthen by proving necessary assumptions such as, various use of public transpiration, well setup of protocol to follow, summer special usage of various resource. These results can be strengthen the author's argument.

The argument could be strengthened if the author provided information reading various considered term by analysing its purposes, Argument could be further strengthened if the author were to define key terms as well as establish a link between mopeds and population increased in summer. As it stands, however, the author argument is flawed for the reason indicated.