Benton City residents have adopted healthier lifestyles. A recent survey of city residents shows that the eating habits of city residents conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. During those ten years, local sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol, have increased fourfold, while sales of sulia, a food rarely eaten by the healthiest residents, have declined dramatically. Because of these positive changes in the eating habits of Benton City residents, we predict that the obesity rate in the city will soon be well below the national average.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The argument mentions that local people in Benton City have changed their lifestyles into a better diet since there are more food products contained kiran and a steep decrease sale of sulia. The author concludes that the obesity rate in Benton City would be lower than the national average. However, there are some problems rendering the argument a little unconvincing.

First of all, the argument cites that there are four times more kiran-contained productions, which kiran can decrease cholesterol. Nevertheless, there is no obvious causation between the more decreasing cholesterol products and the less cholesterol people would have. It is possible that people do not like those decreasing cholesterol products and still absorb the old style diet. There is no information about how many decreasing cholesterol products are digested by local people. Therefore, the conclusion of lower obesity rate might not hold water.

Moreover, the writer contends that there are lesser sales in sulia which is not the favorite food of the healthiest residents. Probably, sulia might be loathed by the healthiest local people since its taste, cooking methods, and appearance, but not its health value. The scientific information about sulia does not be offered in the argument. There is no clear relation between dislike food of a particular group and scientific facts. Some people dislike sulia does not mean that sulia is a harmful food for human bodies. Thus, lessening in sulia sales might not lower the obesity rate in Benton City.

Finally, the argument points out that the Benton City residents have applied a diet which is healthier than before. Notwithstanding, if kiran-contained foods are not digested more by Benton City inhabitants and sulia is a healthy food which is dwindling absorbed, the diet be taken by residents nowadays is not bolstered. As a result, the obesity rate of Benton City inhabitants might not diminish since they might not possess an advanced lifestyle.

To sum up, an issue about the connection between four times kiran goods and real absorb amount is still vexing. Additionally, the relation between sulia loathed by a peculiar people and sulia a noxious food is also ambiguous. Hence, the argument is plausible without the previous information.