In order to become well-rounded individuals, all college students should be required to take courses in which they read poetry, novels, mythology, and other types of imaginative literature.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Studying poetry, novels, mythology, and literature could facilitate college students to become sophisticated people. A discussion of this topic is essential since it relates to the efficiency of education. In my stance, I support that mythology and literature should be subsumed into the required courses for students for the following reasons.

First of all, these types of literature provide readers distinct perspectives, which broaden the readers’ minds and thinking. After the readers comprehend different perspectives, when they deal with and process things, they might come up with more disparate methods and views, which might consider the other sides more than before. To illustrate, a wealthy student might not really understand the suffering and gloomy life of people who in need. Through reading novels which express vividly about both the detailed life style and the reason cause the pain of poors could aid the wealthy students apprehend the feeling of being poor.

Moreover, students might encounter great difficulties and dilemmas in the future which may cause they depress and do not know what to do. Some literature which record and portrait responses of the heroes when they face the horrible things or what do they do when they confront obstructions. Not only hero stories but also tragedies could aid readers to face their lives. For instance, in the tragedy, characters always encounter the dilemmas which cause lost no matter which side they choose. Although it has not happened in everyone's life, it happens in some people's real life. Therefore, if one pores over the literature which teach them to be strong when they lose their important things in their student life, they could be much tougher when they really meet the both dilemmas and barriers.

Finally, the way treating and studying mythology also help people a lot because there are copious mythology in people's life. Once they meet something which cannot easily find a cause or result, they might adopt the same means to approach and find out the truth. In the contrast, if students did not study mythology before, they might easily be disguised by lengthy and ornate words. Studying mythology offer students a method to process and analyze the things they do not know before, but not accept completely of what other people said. Hence, studying mythology aid students to think in a mature way.

To sum up, mythology and many kinds of literature could help people to think in a disparate way. To broaden one's mind and increase the person's perspective, studying literature and mythology allow the person to consider things thoroughly and render the person become a well-round one.