Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States Only about 2 percent of customers have complained indicating that 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change Furthermore many server

In the memo, the business manager of the Happy Pancake House restaurant concludes that the butter should be supplanted by margarine in the Happy Pancake restaurants in the southeast and northeast regions of the United States since it is more profitable. Also, most of the customers in the southwestern area are content with this change and do not complain when they are given margarine instead of butter when they ask for butter. This happened because the customers either could not distinguish between butter and margarine or used the term 'butter' to refer to both butter and margarine. Nonetheless, while the contention drawn by the manager might hold water, it rests on several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument. Thus, the following questions must be addressed.

First of all, are the customers of the southeast or northeast region as bad as customers in the southwest in differentiating between butter and margarine? It is possible that people in different areas have a different sense of distinguishing between butter and margarine. Many customers in those regions might be able to discern that margarine is used instead of butter in their cake and become upset or discontent. If this scenario has merit, then the author's assertion that people in other areas might have no problem with this plan since the people of this region did not show any kind of discontent is significantly hampered.

Secondly, can the result of one survey in one region be applied to other regions? It is probable that if the same survey were conducted in southeast and northeast regions, the result would be the opposite. For example, over 90 percent of people in these regions complain about using margarine in their cakes instead of butter. The argument does not hold water if the above is true. It is not a wise decision to make a big and noticeable change in foods made in all the restaurants throughout the country only based on the result of the survey in one region.

Finally, is the price of butter and margarine the same all over the country? Maybe margarine is less expensive than butter in southwest regions, but the situation is quite the opposite in northeast and southeast regions. Moreover, if the customers in these regions do not like the usage of margarine in their cakes, those restaurants have no choice but to either throw away all the cakes made out of margarine or give them for free to poor people. If either of these scenarios is true, the credibility of the manager's claim that using margarine instead of butter is more 'affordable' decreases substantially.

In conclusion, it is possible that baking cake with margarine instead of butter might work out in the southeast and northeast region as well as the southwest area. Nevertheless, as it stands now, the argument stands on three unanswered questions that render its conclusion unpersuasive at best and specious at worst. Therefore, the author has to provide answers to the three following questions: are all people equal in distinguishing between the taste of margarine and butter?, can the result of one survey in one region be applicable in other parts?, and, is using margarine instead of butter affordable in all areas?