Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state sponsored Olympic teams Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

There are different opinions on whether the government should invest in arts and artistic activities or sports and athletic activities. Even though some people think that art has been overlooked during recent years and must receive financial aid from the government, I believe otherwise, maintaining that the government should invest its money in more efficacious and beneficial grounds such as sports. In what follows, I will delve into the most persuasive reasons to substantiate my perspective.

Without a doubt, the most consequential reason corroborating my stance on this subject is if the government pours a tremendous amount of money into athletic activities, better athletic facilities will be built, which encourages people to utilize these facilities and increase the public tendency toward doing sport and exercise. Playing sports provides people with numerous advantages, for instance, it teaches them teamwork, strategies, and reaching goals. In addition, doing exercise regularly results in an increment in public health. According to a recent survey, people's average life expectancy in North Europe is ten years above the rest of the world's since most people in this region put sports and exercise in their daily schedule. Therefore, this reason manifests that the government should invest significantly in sports since the more money the government spends on sports, the healthier people become.

Although the previous reason is the first one crossing the mind at first glance, another remarkable point deserving some words here is that today, sport and athletic activities are not just a thing that people conduct for fun or to keep their mental and physical health in good condition. Nowadays, sport is an industry that can produce any government innumerable income. Take FIFA World Cup as an example. The government that undertakes to host this event must spend a lot of money to construct new amenities, such as new stadiums, hotels, restaurants, and so on, to become able to host millions of people who would travel to their country during this event. On the other hand, the government would be paid off as soon as a myriad of people come to the country to support their national team. Therefore, they spend a lot of money in the host country and provide the host country's government with millions of dollars in income. Thus, this point illustrates the fact that sport is the right place to invest since the invested money with extra profits will be paid off in the short term.

All in all, many people are in favor of funding art and artistic stuff. Nevertheless, the foregoing reasons lead us to conclude that there is no place better than sports for a government to invest in since it not only improves public health but also brings the government countless income.