The city council of Town X has proposed reducing the city’s electric expenses by switching all the lights in public buildings from incandescent bulbs to light-emitting diodes (LEDs). The switch would be made gradually as the old incandescent bulbs burn

The author has come to the conclusion that switching all the lights from incandescent bulbs to LED bulbs would save money on electric cost based on an extremely weak premise.

There is very little information taken into consideration to assess if they switching of lights from incandescent to LED would result in the saving on money.

First of all, the author could have provided more background information as to how they came to the decision that switching lights would help save money. Why only lights? Why not other appliances? If the lights that are currently being used are more efficient than the fans that are being used currently, it would make sense if we spent money and effort into the switching of fans rather than lights. The author should have provided data as to why the city council decided to switch light bulbs and not any other appliances.

Secondly, the largest leap in the argument is based on a premise with no base whatsoever. the city council decided to switch to LED lights because of two reasons alone. Reason one being LED lights burnt brighter. Now this information is extremely vague and does not provide insight into how bright it will be. We need to know how bright the LED will be in order to guarantee the upgrade is worth all the money spent on switching from incandescent to LED. What if it is too bright? What if it can harm the eyes? Proper study has to be done in this regard. The second reason is LED bulbs cost “no more”. Simply stating that the LED costs no more is not adequate to come to the conclusion that switching would save money. The author has not mentioned a word about the cost of switching from one to another. If the LED bulbs costed the same, and did not provide much of an upgrade, will the money spend on switching be worth it?

The two reason stated are not enough to come to the conclusion that switching would save money. Other factors like longevity, and energy consumption of the LED bulbs should be taken into consideration. How long with the LED’s last? How often does one have to replace it? If we have to replace it more often than incandescent bulbs, then switching would make no sense and would affect Town X adversely. Question related to energy consumption like, How much energy will one bulb consume? Just because it burns brighter does not mean it will consume less energy. If it is burning brighter at the expense of more electricity, then switching to LED will result in more electrical expenses.

To conclude, the council has come to the decision that switching from incandescent lights to LED would save money without adequate study. A lot more data is required to fully assess if switching would truly help save electrical cost. If the omitted factors mentioned above like the longevity and the energy consumption and answers to the questions are taken into consideration, one can know for a fact if switching would truly be profitable for Town X or not.

While it ultimately be the case that this plan is sound and will help save money we canot rely on this argument as there are way too many unexplored variables.