"Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men

With the advancements in technology, scientists have developed machines which can operate without the human presence. The argument states that manned space flights are costly and dangerous, however it does not mention how or why they came to this conclusion. The conclusion that we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight is based on the premise that a series of unmanned space probes and sattelites demonstarted that a great deal of useful information could be gathered without the risks associated with sending humans into space. This premise is weak and should have provided more insight into the information that were gathered.

First of all, the author has provided three reasons as to why the National aeronautics committee should invest their resources in unmanned space flight. The first reason is cost. Simply stating that manned space flights are costlier will not suffice. We need to be provided with exact statistical data before we make a decision of this magnitude. unmanned space flights maybe cheaper, but if the information they provide us with are not as reliable when compared to what we obtain in the case of a manned space flight, investing in unmanned spaced flight would be a nothing but a msitake. Even though the author mentioned "Useful information", we need to know the difference between the information obtained in both cases.

Second reason stated is the danger associated with it. There are several jobs in the world that come with occupational hazard. But this has never stopped us from developing ways to overcome such difficulties. If we never took risks and step out of our comfort zones, we would never have reached the level of technological advancement we have attained today. Furthermore, the author has not mentioned how manned space flights are dangerous. If we can find a way to work around this, this reason would be pointless.

The biggest leap in the argument is the assumption that a great deal of information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. If observed closely, there are several unexplored variables in this assumption. What does great deal of useful information mean? What about costs not associated with sending humans aborad? We need to be provided with data as to how the information is useful. If a manned flight is able to provide more useful data, then might as well spend some extra money. We need to know abou tthe quality and the quantity of the data gathered by an unammed space flight. In addition to this, building an unmanned space flight will definitely have its expenses too. The author has not provided any sort of detail in this regard. If the cost of building an unmanned space flight is more costlier than that associated with sending men and women into space, investing resourcing in unmanned space flight would be a tremendous blunder.

To conclude, the author provides an interesting hypothesis which may or may not be true. But we cannot come to the conclusion that we should invest our resources in unmanned space flights based on this argument due to the above stated assumptions which cannot be overlooked. Unmanned space flights might just be the smarter choice but inorder to decide that we need to take into consideration all of the unexplored variables in the given argument.