Claim: Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Reason: We are not able to make connections between current events and past events until we have some distance from both.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Knowing about the past helps people understand the situation in-hand more thoroughly and thus results in better decisions. Experience is nothing but the learning from past mistakes and experience is what is demanded in most of the complex situations. Thus one can conclude that knowing about the past is something that helps in taking better decisions today.

To begin with, most of the important decisions are taken only after considering past records be it in business or education or personal life. When it is known that the impact of decision in hand is going to be a vast one, we always consider all the perspectives including past and present as well as future. Take for an example, the acquisition of WhatsApp by Facebook, although the CEO of both the firms were already friends but only after thoroughly analyzing past performances and popularity of the Messaging service the internet giant decided to own it.

Moreover, previous records are the only footprints that can judge where the next step is going to be. Therefore most of the universities and colleges look back on past performances of candidates before granting them admissions. Same can be observed in industries, where the only thing that matters is your experience and its relevance to your job. Without the existence of past the legitimacy of present is compromised.

However, reasoning that we are not able to make connections between current events and past events until we have some distance from both, does not provide much insights on why one should not consider past records. One can say that future is something that is ever changing and your past experiences shall not hinder you from moving forward in life. The reasoning in itself appears to be flawed.

On the other hand, we might encounter few situations where there is a contradiction between what our experiences suggests and what we might want to do. For example, a kid who got injured after falling from bike might not want to ride the bike again, but on the inside he might feel like getting on the bike again and learn how to ride it properly. There are several circumstances similar to this one in our day to day life, in these kind of situations if taking a decision is difficult, one can always seek help from elders or seniors or friends.

Conclusively, taking a decision without considering the past is like building a sky scrapper without making a solid foundation. Therefore one shall always try to take deep understandings from previous experiences, to be ready to prepare for the worst and hope for the best .