The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people's efficiency so that they have more leisure time.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Steve Jobs once said that imagine the augmentation in efficacy of a man who has a bicycle than the one who does not. Adding to this point he elaborated that if a bicycle can hugely optimize the performance, then imagine how much a computer would aid to increment this efficiency. This efficacy that he dreamed of in now commonplace, from offices to schools to shopping centers, technology is ubiquitous. Several reasons can be provided to support the statement that technology aids to people's efficiency and consequently they end up having more leisure time.

To being with, in field of education technology has made a huge impact on changing the old ways of learning. Lectures are not confined to classrooms anymore. Any student can take any class literally from anywhere in the world, such is the ubiquity of internet. And this has saved students and teacher both an ample amount of time, which otherwise would have been wasted in travelling to the premises for meetings as small as a doubt clearing session. Moreover, in the field of research, technology has expedite the process of extracting data from archives, by providing fast and precise search engines. The time which was consumed in looking for valuable leads in books and articles manually, only in a library, is now being utilized in achieving the goal.

Moreover, in business and jobs, office professionals seamlessly exploit technology to enhance a day's productivity and improve efficiency. From an Instant Message communication, to scanning documents and e-mailing them, to a Skype call with a client overseas, almost every task is super-charged by technology. They save ample amount of time performing excellently with these multitasking machines so that they could leave office on time. In addition, Offices these days are an evidence in supporting the argument, now-a-days from video games to football matches and gym as well as yoga room are incorporated in offices. If it was not for technology, no office would have ever incorporated such facilities that help an employee enjoy their leisure time.

Additionally in support of the statement on more evidence can be established, it the amazon's latest technology based shopping center where you can simply walk in take the items you need and walk out, without the frustration of waiting in a line to bill the products you want to purchase. The point here is that, there is a whole new level to which technology is helping us save time, only so we could utilize the way we want.

However, people may argue that having more and more leisure time will one day leave all of us unemployed and all the work which human used to do will be accomplished by marvels of technology like artificially intelligent robots and production lines and drones. But, we shall not forget that same allegations are being made from past century and yet the only purpose of technology is to serve the mankind.

Conclusively, technology has largely aimed at saving time for humans to get more involved in recreational activities and shall continue to do so dauntlessly irrespective of what the critiques aver.