It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are generated and preserved.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Cities do their part to contribute in the preservation and generation of traditions but it is villages and semi urban areas where a full extent of traditional and cultural heritage can be enjoyed. The congested and fast paced life of cities may not leave much space and time for carrying out traditions the way they were originally. Thus, cities have a limited contribution in continuing or fabricating new traditions.

To begin with, cities are densely populated and lack the space for communal activities. Additionally, people in cities tend to be very busy. That is why the traditions in cities have a touch of brevity and levity.

However, its the country side where most of the traditions are fully exercised and valued, just the way they should be. People living in remote areas have harmonious lives. Most of the people in town tend to know each other and that is why any celebration is participated by maximum number of the peoples. They have ample amount of time to dedicate to cultural heritage.

Moreover, villages have all the necessary space, the life in village has not gone cozy in tiny apartments. Therefore, Social gatherings are more frequent in these areas as compared to cities. Take for an example, the event of Raavana Dahan in my country, it is the marking of end of an evil king who once kidnapped goddess Sita, during this a dummy of Raavana is burned. Such traditions require large empty grounds.

Additionally, several laws are exercised in cities, which interfere with celebrations, like you can't play loud music after 10 PM or Mass gathering have to be authorized by local administration. Such restrictions hamper organizing cultural events making them an arduous job in cities. It is therefore, that major populace does not take interest in such traditions. While in villages the ease of carrying out traditional events, helps in getting more people on-board.

Conclusively, cities and villages both do their part in inventing and preserving their cultures and traditions. But rustic parts of the country are the places where most of the cultural action is taking place.