The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people's efficiency so that they have more leisure time.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for t

The claim that the goal of technology should be efficiency to secure more leisure time is based on excessively narrow view. Of course it is true that the development of technology connected to individual working skill saves the time of employees. Owing to this, many people can enjoy their free time with leisure activities. However, the leisure is not sole option to people. many others can decide to spend their own time other than leisure as well. Moreover, the efficiency in other fields related with social or environmental issues can be meaningful for other goals.

In the case the field of technologies are related with individual tasks, the attempts to promote the efficiency of individual prowess at working process is beneficial in virtue of that it would secure more time for workers. It is true that when people have more free time, they will have more opportunities to enjoy leisure. With this freedom, people will be able to experience diverse things and to meet new people without heavy burden of labor. The more leisure time can contributes to enhancing individuals' welfare. For example, with the development of technologies related with housework, such as laundry machine, many house workers have been emancipated from time-consuming and arduous tasks. And this emancipation has increased many individual women' welfare by allowing more their own time to enjoy leisure.

However, there are no reason to assume that people will spend their free time exclusively for leisure. People can take advantage of their free time presented by advancement of efficiency in different ways. We can think of many other cases that people would spend their time with other activities. For instance, many people may decide to unwind at home. On the other hand, there may be some people who want to use their free time with working or studying.

Moreover, the goal of technologies usually applied to the social field or environmental field should be something other than simply more leisure. Although the technologies used in the social or environmental filed also increase efficiency in various ways, the efficiency contribute to generate other values. For example, the development of technologies for military force would make the army more efficient organization. However, the efficiency is meaningful not because it secure more time for soldiers to enjoy leisure, but because it secure the safety of the people.

All in all, even though it is true that the advancement of the technology contributes to making more time for leisure to enhancing efficiency, we don't need to conclude that leisure should be the primary goal for the advancement of technology. Because, the free time gained by efficiency can be used differently saving leisure, and the efficiency in the other fields contributes to diverse purposes.