Issue Task 28.

The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

What kind of a nation regarded as a great nation? As the author mentioned, general welfare can be one of the criteria for greatness. however, general welfare is a vague concept difficult to calculate objectively. when considering this difficulty, it seems that the idea the general welfare can be the most reliable indicator is unreal. For example, Buthan regards themselves as the happiest nation in the world, based on their estimate method. Although they suggest a bunch of standards, it is uncertain how much objectivity it has in deciding the standards and evaluating the phenomenon. furthermore, even if the standards is accepted as objective, still, there is no reason we should consider it as the surest, since a variety of criteria which have a similar degree of reliability exist. it is a common problem all the criteria evaluating levels of the general welfare of nations have since welfare is an ambiguous concept by its nature.

Of course, if considering reliable criteria comprehensively, the degree of uncertainty underlying the concept of levels of welfare can be partially corrected. however, since many other alternative factors exist, it is excessively bold assertion that general welfare represents the greatness of nations in the surest way. In fact, achievements from a variety of fields is considered as an important factor in defining a great nation. For example, the usa is regarded as a great nation not because of its welfare system, but because its people's achievements. For example, many of outstanding outcomes have been generated in scientific fields in the usa. when considering the welfare system solely, comparing to many of western and northern Europe, it is hardly able to say the usa is better. even though so, people do not ascribe less greatness to usa than these European counties, and one of the reasons is because usa's contribution to science is significantly huge. Of course, we can think of many other factors influencing the definition of a great nation as well.

In fact, greatness is a concept difficult to exactly characterized. In the case of applying this abstract concept to nation, the difficulty get worse, as the possible method to estimate the greatness of a nation is innumerous. thinking one criterion as the surest is rather impedimental to understand reality. furthermore, there can be a variety of greatness depending on different perspectives. Therefore, we should consider many of factors comprehensively including general welfare and achievements from diverse fields, rather than believing general welfare is the surest indicator.