The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sanlee. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. Therefore, teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

In the survey, the importance of daily and non-daily homework has been checked. The researchers have concluded that high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week. Their conclusion had been more valid if they would have considered more areas and schools, individuals’ performance and the feedback from parents and students. The results are not cogent.

This survey only has been performed in two areas and also it has been limited to high school math and science teachers. The samples of the study are very limited and are not enough for conclusion. There are some questions that must be answered. For example, whether all teachers in different fields in Sanlee assign daily homework, what about Marlee, all teachers only report assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. For improvement of results more teachers with different backgrounds must be considered.

Also, it is not valid that the results from two regions have overshadowed other regions. The survey should be done in different areas and according to the performance of students in one region should be decided whether daily homework is necessary for students of that area or not.

Additionally, in this survey, the overall score has been checked while for increasing the validation of results, researchers had to consider individual scores. They also did not check that standard deviation of the scores. The question is that whether the differences between the scores of the students in Marlee also are low or not. It is true that the overall score in Marlee students is better than their counterparts in Slanee, but if the standard deviation of grades in Slanee is less than Marlee, we may also be able to conclude that the performance of Slanee students has been better, so teachers should assign daily homework.

In addition to these, the survey had had better results if the feedback from parents and students would have been considered. Also there is no evidence to ensure that students in their extra time to concentrate on individual assignments. How many students really study in their extra time when they do not have homework?

In conclusion, the results of the survey are not enough and persuasive and different more factors should be checked.