Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

At first, it might seem logical to agree with the author's argument that the new procedure which allows students to evaluate the professors, maybe the reason for the downfall of the job securement at Omega University. However, in order to better evaluate this claim, we need additional evidence that will support this controversy. The argument could become weaker or it actually might become more valid. In order to make that determination, we need to further analyze this situation.

The first point of evidence that could further set the tone for this claim is more information on the procedure itself and the results of the evaluation. The author does not properly state on what bases are these criteria being judged by. He blindly just hints about the procedure which evaluates the teaching efficiency. Also, if the author had mentioned the results of the procedure, then it would have been easier to reflect and see whether the teaching staff has been changed or not, which could directly affect the grades and hence the probability of getting a job. Hence the argument could have either be weakened or strengthened, depending on the results.

Another piece of evidence that might help us evaluate this claim is the number of companies coming in for recruitments. In this statement, the number of companies coming in, play a significant role in determining the power of the argument. If we were to learn that, due to any external reasons, rarely any companies came to Omega university compared to Alpha university, then it would drastically weaken the argument as the main reason would be the shortage of companies coming in for recruitment and the main point can be neglected.

In addition to this, we have to also consider other factors that could possibly hinder the rate of job securement. In this statement, the author only talks about the increment in the grades. No, where he has mentioned other factors that play a crucial role in getting jobs like interview skills, extra-curricular activities, leadership roles, etc. The argument would be weakened significantly, if these other factors were also considered into the picture, meaning that the new procedure isn’t the sole reason for not landing a proper job.

In conclusion, the argument that if the university were to terminate the student evaluation of the professor is a weak one, as there isn’t sufficient evidence that would support this claim. We need to have additional evidence like; the result of the procedure, the number of companies coming in, or other factors that would hinder the job securement process. Apart from these points, a lot of other information about universities is also needed to further analyze this insight.