Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

It seem that by Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors to enable its graduate to secure better jobs.

It is stated that since the time, new procedure have encouraged students to evaluate teachers, Omega's overall students grades increased by thirty percent but it is not information provided is not compplete. While the overall percentage is increased, but it is not pass fail ratio is not mentioned. Maybe there is a group of students with high numbers and a group with low numbers that would have affected total number of placements.

Rise is not dramatic, as there have been fifteen years , there are lot of other factors that can result in increase of average grades. During past ten years, average grades in all the schools in the state has incresed by 25 percent due to introduction of new teaching curriculum. Students performance should be compared with other college students's on a particular year, rather than comparing performance between two different time periods. Companies now give same weightage to extra curriculum activities as grades.

Moreover, Omega university is situated far away from city, which makes it difficult for recruiters and students to reach each other. While, Alpha university is situated in the middle of city where number of companies is situated. Which makes it easier for students and companies to interact.

Furthermore, Alpha provides internship oppurtunities and practical courses that are more aligned with the work that companies do on regular basis. In a survey it was found that companies prefer students with internships over other students. Omega university does not provide any such facility. As it is situated far from city, it further makes it difficult for students to find internship.