Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the given statement, the author suggests that Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors in order to increase the employment rate of its graduates. However, the argument is flawed for numerous following reasons, as it relies on unwarranted assumptions.

Firstly, the author hastily assumes there is clear causal relationship between the students evaluating professors and the raise of overall student grade average. However, the author provides no adequate evidence to substantiate this assumption that professors have been given higher grades to their students only because of the evaluation procedure. It is entirely possible that the grading standards has been lowered, that students study harder than before, or that professors provide better teaching, which in turn assisted students’ learning. Had the argument provided information regarding that professors have given higher grades only because of the students evaluation procedure, the argument would have been more cogent.

Secondly, even if the assumption above is somehow guaranteed to be true, the author still unreasonably assumes that local employers hire university graduates based only on their grades. However, common sense tells us that there are various factors taken in consideration in an employment procedure. It is possible, for example, that the graduates of Omega University do not have as much extra curricular experience as have the Alpha University graduates. Without excluding all other possible factors except average grade, the argument would not be convincing.

Lastly, the author assumes that only if they terminate the student evaluation system, the employment rate of their graduates would increase. Although this might be the case, it is possible that the low employment rate of Omega University is not due to its student evaluation system but to other reasons. For example, graduates of Omega University are relatively richer than that of Alpha University, so that they do not need to find a job straight away. Or, perhaps, Alpha University provides a wider range of courses that are more favorable for the local employers, whereas Omega University is heavily focusing on pure science and literature courses. If this is the case, the employment rate would not increase even if Omega University terminate students evaluation system.

To sum, the argument is a specious one. Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make cogent cast that Omega University should terminate its students evaluation of their professors. To strengthen it, the author should provide further evidences regarding the causal relationship between the students’ evaluation and their average grades; local employers hire graduates only based on their grades; and the termination of the evaluation would surely improve the employment rate of Omega University graduates.