The surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but the general well-being of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

The given statement asserts that a great nation is represented not by the achievements of a few excellent leaders but by a good life of its ordinary citizens. In some sense, it is undeniable that the power of a country is ultimately subject to the general well-being and actual level of happiness enjoyed by its people. However, I still believe that having distinguished elites in politics, arts, sciences and economy will give a nation a variety of unfathomable potentials, especially in terms of the size of dreams people can have and the level of optimism they can assume.

Of course, few would disagree that the general welfare of average citizens is critical to tell a great country from one that fails to gain respect from other countries. With regard to the level of happiness that a country can offer to its people, a society with such widespread social problems as poverty, illiteracies among many, poor health-care systems for the ordinary people and so on can never be categorised as a great nation. We respect many northern and western European countries not because they have several wealthy tycoons or world-leading scholars and politicians; rather, in my opinion, one of the important reasons why we give credence and respect to them is their well-established "social" welfare systems—people in these countries can use public schools for high quality education, visit hospitals for good health, and work for their own happiness, all of which are limited to the few wealth in some countries. Without "socially sharable happiness," a country, eve though it has lots of talented and chosen elites, does not seem to deserve respect from other countries.

Nevertheless, this does not preclude the importance of several heroic and charismatic elites in making a country great and respectable. In terms of the initial design and planning of the future a country wishes to have, we can safely say that the greatness of any nation depends more on several insightful leaders than on the ideas among the general public. Imagine the present Great Britain without so many excellent political leaders, such as Queen Elizabeth, Winston Churchill, Margaret Thatcher, and Tony Blair. What if the United States were deprived of George Washington, Abraham Lincoln, and Theo Roosevelt? Thought the strength of a country cannot exclude the collective ability of grassroots, its fate, especially during a series of inevitable crises, is generally determined by those few judicious and brave designers.

In addition, the role of several elites in making a country greater can be evident in terms of their values in stimulating the public's psychology. The current power of Japan in world economy and world politics is said to be being prepared just after the Second World War that left only great despair and frustration among the Japanese. It is well known that they revamped their new hope, confidence, and pride from those several artists, political thinkers, and scientists who helped all its people overcome agonies and dismayed by their respective talents. This also says that the potential of a nation is not a simple function of the average state of all its people but, rather, a consequence of a few good leaders.

In sum, in spite of the beneficial aspects of emphasising the general welfare of the people of a nation, the importance of the achievements of the specialists should be recognised. When it comes to initiating and establishing the foundation of a country and to impacting the public, which can improve the greatness of a nation, it is the achievements of a few experts, such as political leaders, artists, or scientists, rather than simply pursuing the general well-being of the public.