Teachers’ salaries should be based on their students’ academic performance.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In any profession, including teachers, assessment and rewarding accordingly is critical. By setting a right standard for the rewarding scheme, we can clarify the role and responsibility of each profession. In the given statement, the speaker argues that teachers should be assessed and rewarded based on how well their students perform in the subjects. Although this may sound attractive for some people, I tend to disagree with this argument for the following reasons.

Firstly, the suggestion, focusing only on the academic performance, can be a threat for students’ learning. Throughout primary, secondary, and post secondary education, students learn not only from the units they take but also from participating in extracurricular activities, such as band, sports teams, and choir. However, if teachers’ wages were set mainly depending on their students’ academic performance, the teachers would probably put pressure on their students to focus more on their academic units. This seems to happen at the cost of their students’ opportunity to have diverse experiences. Thus, the idea of evaluating and compensating teachers based on their students’ academic performance could be detrimental for the students’ other learning experience outside of academic units.

Secondly, the suggestion is also deleterious for teachers since it can be a menace to their professional integrity. By solely relying on their students’ academic performance when discussing their efficacy, the given suggestion implicitly limits the role of a teacher to simply delivering a piece of knowledge for exams. If we think of our relationship with our own teachers, however, it is obvious that their roles were not just to assist us to perform well in our exams. According to my personal experiences with my teachers, they have advised on my future career, raised my spirit, and helped me to grow my confident. Thus, arguing that teachers should be evaluated and compensated based on how well their students perform in their exams not only just ignoring but severely denigrating teachers’ role as educators.

Of course, some people may still argue that there are some benefits in the suggestion above. By attracting teachers with their salaries to focus on academic performance of their students may improve the students’ level of learning to some extent. However, this has critical problems. Firstly, this may cause that teachers only focus on those students who can potentially perform better so that the average score of the class can increase. Secondly, even if teachers truly encourage all students to perform better in their units, the ‘academic performance’ that the students can achieve would be only limited to the knowledge that can be measured by a quantifiable method—exam. Thus, for the true learning and growing of our students, I contend that we should reject the idea of evaluating and reimbursing teachers based on their students’ academic performance.

To sum, although there could be some benefit of the given suggestion, I argue that it is still marginal and negligible, since it would cause only the partial students are benefitted in a very limited sense of learning. Therefore, to ensure comprehensive learning of our students and to protect professional integrity of teachers, we should contrive a more thorough payment scheme for teachers.