Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

Are scandals useful in calling our attention to critical issues, as the statement argues? Of course, few would disagree that scandals can easily draw the interest of the public, sometimes even more effectively than social activists or reformers could. However, I believe that scandals are not always useful for the following reasons.

Firstly, while some scandals may benefit our society by raising critical issues, other scandals only draw the attention of the public without serving any pragmatic purpose. Given the materialistic society, covetously making money with celebrities and gossips surrounding them, the attention of the public shifts along with the different celebrity scandals everyday. It is not difficult to understand that such scandals involving contemporary celebrities, such as Jay Z, Kim Kardashian, Katy Perry, and others, do not help us solve pressing societal issues that may benefit our society. Rather, those scandals are only vain and short-lived.

Secondly, scandals often to be not only useless but actually can be deleterious since it can distract people from understanding the critical aspects of an issue. When the media found out that Byeonghun Lee, a famous Korean actor, has been cheating on his wife, his picture and articles were on the front page of all major newspapers. Because of this scandal, all other important news, which is more related to the general well-being of Korean people than the extramarital relationship of an actor, were all relegated to the next priority on the media. This shows that scandals often not only just vain but also detrimental, as they distract people from obtaining news that have more critical impact on their life.

Of course, some may still argue scandals are useful, as some of them have actually revealed important political corruption and problems. However, simply revealing issues does not always lead to the positive outcome. Often, the related issues are still remain not completely resolved. The powered milk scandal in China saved a million of babies from noxious chemical ingredients. However, even after such scandal, there still exists unethical food companies who produce inedible food products to minimize the cost of production.

While scandals can help us focus on an issue more effectively than what any speakers or reformers could, this does not necessarily mean that such scandals are always relevant to critical social matters. Often, scandals can be nothing but vain, or even distract people from focusing at more critical problems.