College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

What should be a main factor when college students make a decision about which field of study they study? Since pursuing tertiary education costs students a huge amount of financial and time resources, such decision-making should not be based on romantic idea, such as ‘follow your dream.’ Of course, job availability should not be the only element for the consideration. Still, however, it is difficult to deny that it is one of the most important considering factors for the following reasons.

Firstly, considering the amount of money higher education costs, the choice of major should be considered with a practical view—getting a job. Every year a number of students graduate with their degrees as well as a huge debt they can repay only by working for decades. Such issue has been worsened that the recent article on New York Times reported that approximately 30% of the university graduates are behind the repayment schedule or failed to repay their student loan. Thus, if the graduate certificate cannot help students to secure a job, what would be the purpose of obtaining a degree, when the outcome will be left with a huge amount of debt?

Secondly, considering the possibility of leading to a job when choosing a major does not necessarily mean that one should relinquish his or her own interests. Rather, by considering how one’s interests can fit in a field of study that is also related to a lucrative job, he or she can still study without totally failing to ensure a future employment. According to my personal experience, for example, I have been always interested in interactions among people and how people develop relationships with each other. Of course, I could have majored Social Science or Psychology, which are heavily theory-focused field of study, I decided to be more practical by choosing Social Work instead, in which many workers are needed. By doing so, I can study what I am interested but still can have a good chance of get a job in the future.

Of course, some people may still argue that students still prioritize the academic purity when they decide their field of study by strictly focusing on their own interests and curiosity. However, it would be too idealistic and irresponsible to encourage students to choose a field of study solely based on their academic passion or simple curiosity. Not to mention the amount of tuition fee they have to repay in the near future, the job market is becoming more and more competitive. Therefore, it is necessary to advise students to consider the employment issues since it would be the real world they will be living in, not the ideal world.

To sum, it would be an ideal for students if they could choose their field of study solely based on their personal interests without considering practical issues. However, such decision-making cannot be considered wise, especially when tuition fees are extremely expensive and the job market is highly competitive. Moreover, taking an employment factor into the consideration does not necessarily mean that one should compromise his or her interests. Therefore, students should make their choice of field of study based on the availability of jobs.