To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Is it important for a public official to maintain the highest ethical and moral standards to be an effective leader? I believe that it is critical for political leaders to be moral and ethical. However, if the speaker indicates the absolute level of ethical and moral standards, I cannot fully agree with that for the following reasons.

Of course, few would deny the importance of ethical values for political leaders. While the leaders of other fields can be overlooked for their immoral foibles, political leaders should pay extra attention to their ethical and moral standards and behave accordingly. To lead a nation effectively, it is significant to earn the public’s trust, and this can be achieved mainly by their moral purity. It was clearly shown when Bill Clinton, the former president of the United States, was involved in the scandal with Monica Lewinski for extramarital affair. Because of this scandal, all his achievements as a political leader of the United States, which is the most powerful country in the world, vanished and tainted.

Nevertheless, arguing that to be an effective leader, a public official ‘must’ maintain the absolute standards of ethics and moral can be detrimental. When it comes to diplomacy, the leader of a nation cannot be always honest and open, which is required by the high ethical standards. Consider, for example, Free Trade Agreement between two countries. The political leaders of the both countries are keen to draw an agreement that is beneficial for their people. To be an effective political leader, who prioritizes the benefit of the public, one should not be totally honest. Rather it is required to be scheming, and even crafty if necessary, to maximize the benefit from the agreement. In such process, judging whether one is effective leader, only by his or her ethical and moral standards would be foolish.

Moreover, moral and ethical standards can be compromised when a nation should protect its citizens. Considering the modern world, in which the threat of terrorism is prevalent, a public official should be sometimes cold-blooded and rational to protect the public. Of course, being cold-blooded does not necessarily mean becoming unethical. However, when it comes to quelling terrorists and punishment, the first thing the leader of a nation is definitely not the highest ethical and moral standards, but the practical and effective way of dealing with terrorists.

In conclusion, it is difficult to deny that being ethical and moral for a public official is crucial to be an effective leader. However, when it comes to maximize the benefit and safety of the nation, the value of ethics and morality can be compromised.