The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Is a sense of cooperation more important than competition in order to prepare young people for leadership? While competition may seem critical for young people to have a good understanding of leading a team, cooperation is becoming more important in different fields. Thus, I believe that young people should be prepared with a sense of working with other people to be a good leader for the following reasons.

Firstly, one of the critical aspects of leadership is to find potential of a person and support him to maximize his ability. In this sense, it is critical for young people to learn from their early stage of life how to work, get along, and communicate with other people. By working within a team, they can learn how to share goals and ideas and draw different perspectives of the team members in order to achieve the shared goals. Successful business gurus share their philosophy of team working and tell us how they encouraged their team members to find their own potential, which can be beneficial for the team projects. Thus, to prepare young generations to be leaders of the future, it is critical to edify a good sense of working as a team.

Also, the increasingly globalized world requires young people to have a substantial understanding of cooperation. In any societies, they experience an increasing number of immigrants from different cultural background. Accordingly, the market also has a propensity of heterogeneity as the population of consumers become more diverse. Given such condition, it would be foolish to ignore the importance of the skills that are critical to unify and communicate with people with a range of cultural backgrounds. For example, according to a recently released survey result in Australia, one of the countries experiencing the highest immigrants entering rate, companies favours young people with a good sense of diversity and working with other people, rather than those who are only goal-oriented and competition-focused. This shows that the world requires leaders with a good sense of cooperation, and thus we should focus on instilling in young people an idea of working with others.

Of course, some may still argue the importance of competitiveness, especially when it comes to obtaining a goal. It is critical for a leader to have a sense of competition since the role of a leader is to win the game and reward the team members. If a leader can harmonize with all people, while fail every single time when he needs to win over others, it would be difficult to call him a efficient leader. However, a sense of competition is not always more critical than that of cooperation. In fact, being cooperative is more important to maximize the ability of the team members. The role of a leader is not fighting against someone else. Rather, it is to harmonize and lead a team so that the team wins its goal, not his.

In conclusion, while a sense of competition is important for leaders in some sense, it is an ability to cooperate with others that lead a group of people to a winning. The role of leaders is not win a game by themselves, but support their people so that they can properly utilize their potential and ability.