Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own. Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based

Argument has been often considered detrimental, since it causes more cost than benefit, such as severe stress and prohibited learning. However, I believe that we learn more from those who have different ideas and perspective, than we only communicate with those who share similar thoughts with us.

Firstly, encountering different ideas and perspectives allows us an opportunity to think in a different way. People tend to stick to a conventional or familial way of thinking, because of an innate propensity for the sense of safeness. However, having a discussion with people who have distinctive ...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.